Friday, February 4, 2011

2009 Toyota Rav4 Consumer Guide Automotive

The 2009 Toyota RAV4 gets a new 4-cylinder engine and slightly freshened exterior styling. This compact crossover SUV comes in Base, Sport, and Limited trims. Each is available with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive with a locking center differential. RAV4 seats five, but an optional 3rd-row bench on Base and Limited increases seating capacity to seven. Two engines are offered. A 179-hp 2.5-liter 4-cylinder replaces a 166-hp 2.4-liter 4-cylinder. Carried over from 2008 is a 269-hp 3.5-liter V6. A 4-speed automatic transmission is standard with the 4-cylinder, and the V6 has a 5-speed automatic. Maximum towing capacity is 1500 lb with the 4-cylinder, 3500 lb with the V6. Available safety features include ABS, traction control, antiskid system, curtain side airbags, and front side airbags. Hill ascent and descent control is standard on seven-seat 4-cylinder models and on all V6 RAV4s. All have a side-hinged cargo door. Sport models have a sport suspension. Leather upholstery and a navigation system are optional on the Sport and Limited.
2009 Toyota Rav4
2009 Toyota Rav4
Toyota Rav4 20092009 Toyota Rav4


Consumer Guide Automotive places each vehicle into one of 18 classes based on size, price, and market position. Among utility vehicles, Compact SUVs are typically the least costly and offer the best fuel economy. Most utilize a car-type chassis and are not designed for heavy-duty, off-road use. Nearly all are five-passenger vehicles; some offer seating for seven.

Our Best Buys are the Honda CR-V, Suzuki Grand Vitara, and Volkswagen Tiguan. Our Recommended picks are the Saturn Vue and Toyota RAV4.

New or significantly redesigned models include the GMC Terrain, Subaru Forester, and Volkswagen Tiguan.


Post a Comment